Brussels, 17 July 2019/ACP: The World Heritage Committee has inscribed a total of 29 new sites on the World Heritage List – one in Africa, two in the Arab States, ten in the Asia Pacific region, 15 in Europe and North America and one in Latin America. The List now features 1,121 sites in 167 countries.
UNESCO noted however that “Significant efforts are still needed to enhance and preserve African heritage, which remains largely under-represented on the List”. To date, according to the World Heritage website, ACP Member States account for just 99 of the 1,121 sites and 35 of the 167 countries. ACP African States account for 96 properties of which 6 are Transboundary, 53 are cultural, 38 are natural and 5 are mixed. In the ACP Caribbean region, there are three properties, one cultural, one natural and one mixed.
Listed ACP countries are: Angola, Belize, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Seychelles, South Africa, Togo, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.
Read more