Brussels, 7 February 2014/ACP: H.E Dr Diodorus Kamala of Tanzania will steer the Committee of Ambassadors for the next six months, as East Africa takes over chairmanship one of the key decision-making organs of the ACP Group.
Dr Kamala was formerly Minister of East African Cooperation in his country and later became the Chairman of the Council of Ministers of the East African Community in 2010.
He first addressed the Committee as Ambassador in 2012, calling for solidarity amongst member states while charting its future beyond the current partnership agreement with the European Union, due to close in 2020.
For the current term running from 1st February to 31st July, Tanzania also leads a new line up of the Committee’s Bureau, including Ethiopia, Guinea, Chad, Lesotho, Jamaica and Tuvalu. The troika is made up of Tanzania, outgoing Chair Samoa and incoming Chair from West Africa.
The Committee of Ambassadors acts on behalf of the Council of Ministers between ministerial sessions. It is composed of the Ambassadors or one representative from each of the 79 ACP member states.
– ACP Press