Brussels, 1 February 2016/ ACP: The Committee of Ambassadors of the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States will be chaired by the Ambassador of the Republic of Congo (Brazzaville), H.E. Roger-Julien Menga for the period 1 February 2016 to 31st July 2016.

He takes over from the Ambassador of Lesotho, H.E. Mpeo Mahase-Moiloa.

The Committee of Ambassadors is one of the most important bodies of the ACP governing structures, comprising of one representative from each of the 79 member countries of the ACP Group. It meets at least one a month in Brussels to monitor the implementation of the ACP-EU Partnership Agreement, and carry out any mandate tasked to them by the ACP Council of Ministers. Much of its work is also carried out through sub-committees and working groups.

The Committee of Ambassadors is supported by a Bureau, which coordinates its work. The Bureau is made up of one representative for each of the six ACP regions, which, for the next six months includes: H.E Ali Saïd Faqi of Somalia (East Africa); H.E. Amadou Diop of Senegal (West Africa); H.E. Dr Daniel Emery Dede of the Central African Republic (Central Africa); H.E. Tedson Aubrey Kalebe of Malawi (Southern Africa), H.E Vilma McNish of Jamaica (Caribbean) and H.E. Deo Saran of Fiji (Pacific).

The Presidency of the Republic of Congo will see several major milestones for the ACP Group, including the 8th Summit of ACP Heads of State and Government in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea, the presentation of the Eminent Persons’ Group report on the future of the ACP Group, and the ACP-EU Council of Ministers in Dakar, Senegal, where ACP and EU officials will celebrate 40 years of partnership.

It is also a significant period following the adoption of major international agreements last year, especially on the Sustainable Development Goals and climate change.

(Photo below: Members of the incoming and outgoing Bureaux, along with the ACP Secretary General H.E. Dr. Patrick Gomes (front row, first from left) and the new Chair of the ACP Committee of Ambassadors H.E. Roger-Julien Menga (front row, second from right), with some members of the ACP management team;

Above: ACP Secretary General with the outgoing Chair of the Committee of Ambassadors, H.E. Mpeo Mahase Moiloa of Lesotho (centre), and the current Chair, Ambassador Menga of the Republic of Congo).

– Press ACP