Brussels, 6 October 2015/ ACP: The Republic of Kenya became the third ACP country to sign the Joint Undertaking on Administrative Cooperation for the Implementation of Cumulation Provisions contained in the Economic Partnership Agreements signed between ACP regions/countries and the EU.
The Ambassador of Kenya to the European Union, H.E Mr. Johnson Weru (pictured, seated) signed the document at the headquarters of the ACP Group in Brussels, which allows for the implementation of cumulation provisions amongst EPA signatory states, between EPA signatory states and Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs) of the EU, as well as with other non-signatory ACP countries benefitting from duty-free quota-free access into the EU.
Signing the agreement will establish an enabling environment signed in common by al the ACP EPA signatory parties. It will also empower the various customs administrations of the ACP EPA signatory parties and OCTs to interact with one another and put in place systems that would enable them to import materials from one another, do further processing and export the final product to the EU under preferential conditions. Moreover, the document may serve as a template for similar agreements to be negotiated on a bilateral basis by ACP countries/regions with certain non-ACP countries.
ACP member states which are not parties to an EPA but still benefit from duty-free quota-free access to the EU may also sign the Joint Undertaking.
– ACP Press Office