Tallinn, Estonia, 31 May 2017/ ACP: The ACP Secretary General H.E. Dr. Patrick I. Gomes and the Prime Minister of Estonia H.E. Mr. Jüri Ratas today signed a Memorandum of Understanding in the margins of the 2017 Tallinn Conference on E-Governance, on behalf of the ACP Group of States and the Government of Estonia.

The agreement will facilitate knowledge transfer and capacity building, allowing the Government of Estonia to better share and introduce e-solutions to 79 member states in Africa, the Caribbean and Pacific regions, through think tank organization e-Governance Academy.

Specific areas identified for potential cooperation include:

– National e-governance systems

– Data exchange layer

– Digital identity, basic registries and databases

– Cyber-security and protection of critical infrastructure

– Research and education.

The MOU aims to foster exchange of experience and expertise in the field of ICT through joint conferences, seminars and study tours, as well as share information on e-governance programmes to imrpove the efficiency of services in ACP countries.

The Parties will also seek to foster the cooperation between public and private sector institutions in using ICT to improve public service delivery, while also promoting collaboration in the field of digital industry and fostering digital entrepreneurship in ACP countries in order to boost ICt innovation.

"This Tallinn conference truly marks human bonding and the connectivity of people from rich and diverse cultures… The signing of this MoU is a testimony of our hope of many years of cooperation with the people of Estonia and Europe," said the Secretary General.

The Tallinn E-Governance conference took place on the 30th and 31st May, gathering nearly 400 delegates from more than 100 countries to discuss e-governance solutions as enablers of sustainable development and growth.

– ACP Press

Read also:

ACP head urges more investment, recognition for ICT sector

Opening remarks by the Secretary General at the Tallinn E-Governance Conference on 30 May 2017, Tallinn, Estonia