Brussels, 23 June 2020/OACPS: On behalf of the Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States (OACPS), the Secretary-General, H.E. Mr. Georges Rebelo Pinto CHIKOTI, congratulates H.E. President Uhuru Kenyatta and the Government and People of the Republic of Kenya on Kenya’s election to a non-permanent seat on the United Nations Security Council (UNSC). This victory attests to the confidence Members of the UN have in the leadership and Government of the Republic of Kenya and its ability to champion the objectives of peace, conflict resolution and security for all.

Secretary-General Chikoti reaffirmed the solidarity and support of the Members of the OACPS to the Republic of Kenya during the tenure of her mandate, pursuant to the Nairobi Nguvu ya Pamoja Declaration of the 9th Summit of OACPS Heads of State and Government.

To this end, the Secretary-General underlined the OACPS’ commitment to multilateralism and the rules-based international order and as such commends Kenya’s visionary leadership in defending the interests of the Members of the OACPS.

The Secretary General applauded Canada and Djibouti for their strong and vibrant election campaigns which displayed leadership and determination to address global challenges and defend multilateralism. He also congratulated India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway on their election to the UN Security Council and called for international solidarity and cooperation as they work alongside their colleagues to maintain international peace and security.