Brussels, 31 August 2020/OACPS: The interactive online tool designed and developed to support the members of the Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States (OACPS) in their Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) under the Paris Agreement is now available in all the languages of the OACPS: French, English, Spanish and Portuguese. The platform has also been updated to include additional information on adaptation, gender, capacity building and financial needs.

The online tool was developed by the Intra-ACP GCCA+ Programme to support the members of the OACPS in their NDCs under the Paris Agreement. Through its Climate Support Facility (CSF), the Programme conducted a comparative analysis of NDCs in all 79 members of the OACPS, and identified on-going activities, gaps and opportunities for NDC implementation in the countries. Based on this analysis, a new interactive online tool was designed and developed at the beginning of 2020, to broadly explore all opportunities to promote low-carbon and climate-resilient growth over the long term, in line with their commitments to the Paris Agreement.

Given that countries are required under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) to update their NDCs in 2020, and that countries agreed, under the 2015 Paris Agreement to revise their NDCs every five years at most, to gradually ramp up the action against climate change, the online tool provides timely assistance to OACPS Members to revise their NDCs in line with UNFCCC guidelines. The ACP-NDC tool is secured and provides flexibility to Member States to address all relevant issues that arise in the context of the NDCs revision process and in coordination with the various sectors of activities in the country, and as per their respective commitments under the Paris Agreement. Accordingly, it ensures that all information required by the UNFCCC is clearly spelt out in the form of an exhaustive checklist so that they may be appropriately addressed by Member States.

The Intra-ACP GCCA+ Programme is an initiative of the Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States (OACPS) funded by the 11th European Development Fund (EDF), in the context of the wider Global Climate Change Alliance+ (GCCA+) flagship programme.

Further information

For further information, please contact:

  • Dr. Pendo Maro, Team Leader, Intra-ACP Global Climate Change Alliance Plus (GCCA+) Programme and Climate Support Facility,

(w) +32 2 743 0607, (m) +32 495 281 494

  • Jean-Rémy Daue, Communication and Knowledge Management Expert, Intra-ACP Global Climate Change Alliance Plus (GCCA+) Programme,

(m) +32 475 78 05 50.

  • Programme website:


The Organisation of African, Caribbean, and Pacific States (OACPS) is the world’s largest group of developing countries. The 79- member-strong Organisation, is composed of 48 countries from sub-Saharan Africa, 16 from the Caribbean, and 15 from the Pacific. The OACPS members include 40 Least Developed Countries (LDCs), 36 Small Island Developing States (SIDS) and 15 Landlocked LDCs. These countries and regions are among the lowest contributors to climate change, but are the most vulnerable to changing weather patterns, rising sea levels, and extreme weather events.

The Intra-ACP Global Climate Change Alliance Plus (GCCA+) programme is a €70 million initiative of the OACPS, funded by the 11th European Development Fund and co-managed with the European Union (EU). It supports OACPS countries to address climate change. Specifically, it helps these countries to better tackle developmental challenges posed by climate change and to implement appropriate adaptation and mitigation responses. Through its Climate Support Facility (CSF) the Programme provides on-demand short-term technical assistance and capacity building to further strengthen the countries’ efforts with respect to climate change.